# **Borough of Mount Pleasant**

## Etze Avenue Municipal Building Mount Pleasant, PA 15666

Phone: (724) 547-6745 Fax: (724) 547-0115

#### Agenda

### Reorganization Meeting January 2, 2024

Magistrate Charles Moore swears in newly elected Officials:

Diane E. Bailey, Mayor Patience Barnes, Councilwoman Linda Czekanski, Councilwoman Kenneth Phillabaum, Councilman Cindy Wojnar, Councilwoman Andy Davis, Councilman

Call to order Pledge of Allegiance Roll Call

- A) Matters of Business
  - Mayor calls for nominations and elections for President of Council.
  - Council President calls for nominations and elections for Vice President of Council.
  - President calls for nomination and elections for President Pro Tem.
- B) Appointment of Borough Officials.
  - Motion to retain **Sharon Lesko** as Mount Pleasant Borough Manager.
  - Motion to retain George Grippo as Mount Pleasant Borough Police Chief.
  - Motion to retain <u>Mark Cypher</u> as the Mount Pleasant Borough Code Officer.
  - Motion to retain \_\_\_\_\_\_ as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.
  - Motion to retain Opst and Associates as Mount Pleasant Borough Auditor.
  - Motion to retain <u>K2 Engineering</u> as the Mount Pleasant Borough Building Inspectors.
  - Motion to retain <u>Gibson-Thomas Engineering</u> as the engineering firm for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.
  - Motion to retain <u>Paul Harenchar</u> as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.
  - Motion to retain <u>Paul Harenchar</u> as Emergency Management Coordinator.
  - Motion to retain <u>Zachary Gergas</u> as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinator.
  - Motion to retain <u>Leslie J. Mlakar of Avolio Law Group, LLC</u> as Solicitor of the Planning Commission for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.

- Motion to retain <u>Tim Witt</u> as Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.
- Motion to retain <u>Robert Regola</u> as Government Consultant and Grants for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.

## C) Borough Appointments

- Motion to appoint <u>Sharon Lesko</u> as Secretary/Treasurer for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.
- Motion to appoint <u>Sharon Lesko</u> as the Open Records Officer for the Borough of Mount Pleasant.
- Motion to appoint <u>Councilman Ken Phillabaum</u> as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.
- Motion to appoint <u>Patience Barnes</u> as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association.
- Motion to appoint **Ken Phillabaum** as Representative to the Library Board.
- Motion to appoint \_\_\_\_\_\_ as Alternate Representative to the Library Board.
- Motion to appoint Councilwoman <u>Susan Ruszkowski</u> to the Tax Collection Committee
- Motion to appoint <u>Caprice Mills</u> as alternate to the Tax Collection Committee
- Motion to appoint <u>Sharon Lesko</u> as second alternate to the Tax Collection Committee
- Motion to appoint <u>Michael Ruszkowski</u> as Chairman of the Vacancy Board.

#### D) General Administrative Business

- Motion to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council meeting procedure.
- Motion to designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts.
- Motion to designate depositories of Borough funds as Dollar Bank, Scottdale Bank & Trust, a division of Mid Penn, and Somerset Trust Company.

### E) Appointments to Boards and Authorities

- Motion to appoint <u>Susan Ruszkowski</u> to Mount Pleasant Civil Service Board for a 4-year term expiring 12-31-2027.
- Motion to appoint <u>Phyllis Mecurio</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for the remaining 5-year term which expires 12-31-2025 (expired 12/31/2020).
- Motion to appoint <u>Nino Barsotti</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for the remaining 5-year term which expires 12-31-2027 (expired 12/31/2022).

Miscellaneous and Adjournment		
END TIME:		

• Motion to appoint <u>Michael Ruszkowski</u> to Mount Pleasant Zoning Hearing Board for a 5-year term expiring 12-31-2028 (expired 12/31/2023).